top of page
  • Writer's pictureMagaly

Take a Trip to the Thrift

There is a misconception about thrifting. Many people believe that it is dirty or that clothes are in unwearable condition. This, as I said, is a misconception. Take a chance and take a trip to your local thrift store.



You may be wondering why I'm talking about thrifting when this is a blog about sustainability. Well, it is because thrifting is a sustainable practice in the fashion world. Each year 92 million tons of textile waste is produced. Textile waste makes up about 7% of global landfill space. For the most part, only 1% of textiles can be recycled into new clothing pieces.

With thrifting, textile waste can be reduced significantly. Thrifting provides clothes a second home and a second chance at life. Most clothes that are donated to thrift stores are in great condition and donated because people no longer have room in their closets or in their lives for those pieces. Thrifting reduces the amount of textiles being wasted since we are buying clothing that has already been made.



Thrifting can also be sustainable because it creates a wardrobe using pieces that can be timeless and unique. I, myself, have always thrifted ever since I can remember. 98% of my wardrobe is thrifted and I love every piece of clothing I own. It also gives me a sense of uniqueness because I know many people my age won't have the same exact piece of clothing as I do.



Shopping second-hand can also be cost-friendly as prices are reduced significantly. Most thrift stores are reasonable with their prices and carry great items. There's even a chance you could find some vintage pieces to add to your wardrobe for a great price!

The last idea on thrifting for today is the creative ways you can flip pieces. You can buy clothing pieces for a fraction of the price and turn them into something new. It is an affordable way to create new pieces out of old ones. Once again, all these ways give clothes a new life and can give you a new sustainable wardrobe.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page